Skip to main content
Des Plaines Public Library

Board of Trustees


Our Board of Trustees performs many important jobs. They set policies and procedures to ensure that the library is fiscally responsible and responsive to your needs. The board has adopted Vision and Belief Statements to aid in these decisions. The Mayor appoints board members for 3 year terms.


The Board of Trustees will meet Thursday, March 21, 2024 at 7:00 p.m. in Meeting Room B for a Board Of Trustees meeting. View the agenda and meeting notice for this meeting.



The Board holds its regular monthly Board meetings on the 3rd Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the second floor Conference Room, except where noted. Everyone is welcome to attend these meetings. You can also watch previous board meetings online.

Meeting Schedule

Here are the upcoming Board of Trustees meetings. View past meetings.

  • March 21, 2024
  • April 18, 2024
  • May 16, 2024
  • June 20, 2024
  • July 18, 2024

Current Board Members

Dr. Gregory Sarlo, President
Dr. Gregory Sarlo, President
Kristen Graack, Treasurer
Kristen Graack, Vice President
Denise Hudec
Denise Hudec, Treasurer
Lisa DuBrock, Secretary
Lisa DuBrock, Secretary
Christine Halblander
Christine Halblander
Nick Harkovich
Nicholas Harkovich
Michelle Shimon-Hutchison
Nazneen Kapadia
{image-9} Rachel Rice
Rachel Rice
Michelle Shimon

Minutes and Financials

We provide the Board's minutes and the library's financial information to help you better understand how we work for you. Visit our Meetings & Minutes page to download the current year's documents.

More information

You can find minutes from past meeting on the Board's archive page. Our data page has other interesting and useful data to download.

Visit us at 1501 Ellinwood St.

We open at 9:00am today.