

BOARD OF TRUSTEES MINUTES of the Regular Meeting September 15, 2022, 7 p.m.

I. Call to Order.

The meeting was called to order at 7:03 p.m.

II. Roll Call.

Roll call indicated the following board members were PRESENT: Lisa DuBrock, Kristen Graack, Christine Halblander, Denise Hudec, Gregory Sarlo, Michelle Shimon-Hutchison, Bruce Lester, Nicholas Harkovich; ABSENT: None; ALSO PRESENT: Jo Bonell, Laurie Papadourakis, Heather Imhoff, Michelle Meyer-Edley, Stephanie Spetter, Joanie Sebastian, Lauren Wolf, John Leach, Blake Kindl, Scott Lemkuil

- III. Pledge of Allegiance.
- IV. Vote to invoke the Remote Participation Policy.

MOTION by DuBrock seconded by Graack to invoke the remote participation policy. VOTE: AYES: DuBrock, Graack, Halblander, Harkovich, Hudec, Sarlo, Shimon-Hutchison, Lester; NAYS: None; MOTION CARRIED

V. Consideration of the Agenda.

MOTION by Graack, seconded by Halblander to accept the agenda. VOTE: AYES: DuBrock, Graack, Halblander, Harkovich, Hudec, Sarlo, Shimon-Hutchison, Lester; NAYS: None; MOTION CARRIED

VI. Public Comments and Questions.

None

- VII. Consent Agenda.
 - A. Approval of the Minutes of the Regular Board Meeting August 18, 2022.
 - B. Approval of the Minutes of the Finance Committee-August 17, 2022

- C. Acceptance of Financial Reports for August, 2022.
- D. Acceptance of Reports.
 - 1. Statistics Report for August, 2022.
 - 2. Director's Report for August, 2022

MOTION by Halblander, seconded by Shimon-Hutchison to accept the consent agenda. VOTE: AYES: DuBrock, Graack, Halblander, Harkovich, Hudec, Sarlo, Shimon-Hutchison, Lester; NAYS: None; MOTION CARRIED

VIII. New Business.

A. Report Out from Management Committee regarding changes to the Investment Policy and Business Manager position

Committee Chair Graack stated that the only change is to the bank of record which changed from First Midwest Bank to Old National Bank.

MOTION out of committee, seconded by Hudec to accept the recommended changes to the Investment policy and the Business Manager position. ROLL CALL VOTE: AYES: DuBrock, Graack, Halblander, Harkovich, Hudec, Sarlo, Shimon-Hutchison; NAYS: Lester; MOTION CARRIED

B. Approve Payment of Vendor Checks Report and ACH Payments in the amount of \$389,076.16

MOTION by Hudec, seconded by Shimon-Hutchison to approve payment of vendor checks and ACH Payments in the amount of \$389,076.16 as listed on the vendor checks report of August 2022 and authorize Library Director Jo Bonell to transfer the amount required to the library's operating account. VOTE: AYES: DuBrock, Graack, Halblander, Harkovich, Hudec, Sarlo, Shimon-Hutchison, Lester; NAYS: None; MOTION CARRIED

C. Review of Vendor Bids for Chiller Purchase

The board reviewed five bids to replace and selected the lowest bid.

MOTION by Graack, seconded by Shimon-Hutchison to accept the bid from Edwards Engineering Inc. in the amount of \$ 322,300 with no additional warrantees. ROLL CALL VOTE: AYES: DuBrock, Graack, Halblander, Hudec, Sarlo, Shimon-Hutchison, Lester; NAYS: Harkovich None; MOTION CARRIED

D. Approve Library Closings for 2023.

MOTION by DuBrock seconded by Graack to approve 2023 closings as presented. VOTE: AYES: DuBrock, Graack, Halblander, Harkovich, Hudec, Sarlo, Shimon-Hutchison, Lester; NAYS: None; MOTION CARRIED

IX. Other. (7:45 p.m.)

President Sarlo reported that he and Director Bonell met with the City of Des Plaines Manager and Director of Finance to discuss options for short term financial support to keep the library operating in the event the second installment of property taxes were delayed past January, when DPPL reserves will be depleted.

He also reported that DPPL has received the annual Per Capita grant payment of \$89,000.

John Leach, President of the Friends of the Library shared the Friends Book Sale will be held September 30 – October 2.

Director Bonell shared that the library's DEI committee has developed a statement that can be found at dppl.org/about/dei

X. Announcements.

None

- XI. Correspondence.
- XII. None
- XIII. Adjournment.

MOTION by Graack seconded by Halblander to adjourn. VOTE: AYES: DuBrock, Graack, Halblander, Harkovich, Hudec, Sarlo, Shimon-Hutchison, Lester; NAYS: None; MOTION CARRIED

The meeting adjourned at 8:00 p.m.