

DES PLAINES PUBLIC LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Minutes for the Regular Meeting July 21, 2022

Gregory Sarlo stated that as President he determined that it was not practical or prudent to schedule an in-person meeting due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Therefore, the meeting would be held virtually and in accordance with state statute.

I. Call to Order. 4:04 pm

Board president Gregory Sarlo explained that the board had posted notice to meet in person. Due to medical issues that arose over the weekend, however, we no longer have the five trustees able to meet in person at the library required to invoke the Remote Participation Policy and achieve a quorum.

II. Roll Call.

Roll call indicated the following board members were present: Lisa DuBrock, Kristen Graack, Christine Halblander, Nicholas Harkovich, Denise Hudec, Gregory Sarlo, Michelle Shimon-Hutchison Absent: Bruce Lester Also present: Jo Bonell, Laurie Papadourakis, Heather Imhoff, Michelle Meyer-Edley, Stephanie Spetter, Joanie Sebastian, Lauren Wolf.

- III. Pledge of Allegiance.
- IV. Vote to invoke the Remote Participation Policy.

Not required.

V. Consideration of the Agenda.

MOTION by Hudec, seconded by Halblander to accept the agenda. ROLL CALL VOTE: AYES: DuBrock, Graack, Halblander, Harkovich, Hudec, Sarlo, Shimon-Hutchison; NAYS: None; MOTION CARRIED

VI. Public Comments and Questions. None

- VII. Consent Agenda.
 - A. Approval of the Minutes of the Regular Board Meeting June 16, 2022
 Approval of the Minutes of the Management Committee Meeting – June 16, 2022.
 - B. Acceptance of Financial Reports for June, 2022.
 - C. Acceptance of Reports.
 - 1. Statistics Report for June, 2022.
 - 2. Director's Report for June, 2022

MOTION by Halblander, seconded by Graack to accept the Consent Agenda. ROLL CALL VOTE: AYES: DuBrock, Graack, Halblander, Harkovich, Hudec, Sarlo, Shimon-Hutchison; NAYS: None; MOTION CARRIED

- VIII. Nominating Committee
 - A. Election of Officers President, Vice President, Treasurer and Secretary.

Committee member Halblander reported that the slate of candidates put forth at the June Meeting stands. She asked that any other trustee wishing to be considered in the vote put their name forth now. No additional candidates stepped forward.

MOTION by Halblander out of committee to accept the proposed state of officers for the 2022/2023 term. CALL VOTE: AYES: DuBrock, Graack, Halblander, Harkovich, Hudec, Sarlo, Shimon-Hutchison; NAYS: None; MOTION CARRIED

B. Oath of Office
2022/2023 officers were sworn in as follows:
Dr. Gregory Sarlo / President
Kristen Graack / Vice President
Denise Hudec / Treasurer
Lisa DuBrock / Secretary

- IX. New Business.
 - A. Approve Payment of Vendor Checks Report and ACH Payments in the amount of \$304,280.16.

MOTION by Hudec, seconded by Graak, to approve payment of vendor checks and ACH Payments in the amount of \$304,280.16 as listed on the vendor checks report of June 2022 and authorize Library Director Jo Bonell to transfer the amount required to the library's operating account. ROLL CALL VOTE: AYES: DuBrock, Graack, Halblander, Harkovich, Hudec, Sarlo, Shimon-Hutchison; NAYS: None; MOTION CARRIED

B. Approval of payment to EBSCO in the amount of \$24,608.84

Director Bonell explained that this vendor provides the majority of all print magazines.

MOTION by Graack, seconded by Halblander, to approve payment of the EBSCO in the amount of \$24,608.84 ROLL CALL VOTE: AYES: DuBrock, Graack, Halblander, Harkovich, Hudec, Sarlo, Shimon-Hutchison; NAYS: None; MOTION CARRIED

X. Other.

Director Bonell reported she has confirmed bills for the second installment of Cook County property taxes will not go out until the end of the year and will delay the receipt of revenue due the library (approximately 45% of the 2022 operating budget) until early 2023. She requested the finance committee discuss the impact this will have when they meet in August.

President Sarlo announced he will be setting the 2022/2033 committees and asked that any trustee interested in serving on a particular committee let him know.

XI. Announcements.

None

XII. Correspondence.

None

XIII. Adjournment.

MOTION by Hudec, seconded by Graack. VOTE: AYES: DuBrock, Graack, Halblander, Harkovich, Hudec, Sarlo; NAYS: None; MOTION CARRIED

Meeting ends at 4:20 pm

Notes prepared by Secretary DuBrock and Heather Imhoff